Carving a Space: Life Update

It might be better to crawl under my desk and wait for the next two days to pass. It’s Tuesday today, and I have a final exam tomorrow morning. Also two revised papers due. It’ll be fine. But I really can’t wait until Thursday, because I’m leaving! Packing up and leaving the suburbs and the city and trekking up to Wells, BC for the ArtsWells music festival.

I’m really, really excited to take part in the workshops at ArtsWells, and meet other volunteers at the merch table, and spend some quality time with myself and my forever friend Robin. It’ll be nice to be in a place where the only main worries I’ll have is a) getting to see all the acts I want to see and b) keeping the beer cold. I’m really looking forward to it.

Haven’t packed yet. I’m saving that for tomorrow evening. Laundry first, people.

I guess I’m hoping that a weekend away will put some distance between me and all the heavy emotional shit that I’ve been wading through, and also that it’ll inject some creativity back into my life. If a weekend among artists won’t do it, what will? I’m hoping that August will be a really creative, cathartic month for me. Gotta get some quality time with my canvas and paints in before school starts, right? Though I have applied to take an upper division creative writing course next semester, so hopefully that’ll keep me writing.

There’s a lot of things to look forward to, and I’m going to keep remembering that. Thanks to everyone in the WordPress community for being wonderful, witty, creative human beings, and to my friends, family, and partner for being so supportive and there for me throughout the past year. I’m looking forward to spending August with you.

2 thoughts on “Carving a Space: Life Update

  1. Wow sounds like you’re in for quite the adventure! I’m totes jealous but of course excited to get to hear all about it when you return!

    I started blogging last week and seem to be having my own Internet vacation meeting so many neat people – like yourself!

  2. I think we’re all constantly wading through emotional shit.
    I think artists are inherently artists because we have been “doomed” to feel e v e r y t h i n g.
    To take this emotional journey (sometimes torment) and turn it into something beautiful, that’s what art is really all about.
    So keep your chin up, stay inspired and keep creating. Life and love are delightfully messy and distracting but they are also our most daring canvas’s.

Leave a Reply

