A Quick Note On Australia

My keyboard resides in the Northern Hemisphere, where very few things want to eat you. Unless you count grizzly bears, which I don’t. They don’t venture into the suburbs too often. But Australia, now there’s a scary place and a half. I’d skin both my knees to be able to go there, but knowing me they’d send me home within a week covered in tarantula bites. Have I fallen embarrassingly deep into stereotypes yet?

The reason I bring up Australia is that it’s 3:25am where I sit, and I’ve got class in 7 hours. Now, I could have finished this linguistics assignment ages ago if I’d put my mind to it (it’s actually kind of fun, in a twisted phonological puzzly kind of way), but instead I blogged for a bit, and I made myself a sandwich, and I ate the sandwich, and then I made myself some tea and sat down with the best intentions and a tin of mints.

Now all that remains is to type the thing up.

Do Australians enjoy mints as much as I do? I’m workin’ the blanket statements here. Ohhh blankets…bed would be nice. I bet it’s warmer down under as well, though today up on the mountain was incredibly gorgeous. It was just everywhere else that was foggy and cold as all get-out. You could look down and see this blanket of fog rolling out from the mountain base….blankets again, dammit.

I’m looking back over this and I realize I never elaborated on Australia. I figure since y’all are a day ahead of us, oh……and here my 3am logic falls flat. That means it’d be 3am in Australia too, just on a different day. Well. There goes all of my reason.

© Emily Bragg 2013

2 thoughts on “A Quick Note On Australia

    • Awrgh a real live Aussie commenting on my baby blog! Hello! Thank you for answering all my suppositions about your beautiful country and disregarding all my blatant stereotypes.
      I do agree, mints have a time and a place. As for weather, I’m shivering here in the chilly fog wishing I could trade places with you. Grass is always greener.

Leave a Reply

